The Best Ships are Friendships

Hey guys, 

This post is dedicated to my friends, new ones, day ones, ones I don’t talk to, friends who are now family and the family who are now friends, lovers turned friends and friends turned lovers. If we were ever friends, please read 😊. 

We’re a third into the ‘new’ year! This year has been exciting so far.  I’ve gone through an entire whirlpool of emotions and it’s just been 4 months. Less than 5 months till I’m done with my masters 💃.
For a very long part of my life, I relied on my friends for almost everything,  advice, decision making, if I was ready to date, what classes I should take, the list goes on.I went through different phases in my life. 
To my friends who made me feel ‘among’ in primary school, made sure I was one of the ‘cool’ kids, the ones who defended me and possibly lied for me so I wouldn’t get into trouble, the ones I missed lessons with just cause we were having fun at a friend’s house, the ones who made sure my name was not on the list of noisemakers, the one who let me stay at hers for a whole school session cause my house was far, this list could go on but I’ll stop there.

In Secondary school, I was such a chicken, I honestly still am. I needed friends to help me be better, friends who helped me find myself, people who protected me from ‘evil’ seniors, people who didn’t mind helping me out even though it meant their mates might not like them as much, friends who always ‘kept space’ for me and made sure I was after them and sometimes ‘rotated’ even, the one friend that made me build a thicker skin cause of how much I cried, the friend I hated and eventually became bestfriends with, this list, once again could go on forever.

In university (both), I was let to be my truest self without any rules, of course I needed friends who saw me for who I was without any judgement, friends who I trusted enough to get wasted with and threw parties with, friends who accepted every version of me, dealt and didn’t mind my stupid mood swings, friends who let me stay in their houses when my stupid student accommodation made me move out during breaks, same friends who cooked for me cause I was (am) a lazy twat, friends who I went on trips with, the one friend I got tattoos with, friends who trusted me with their deepest secrets, the one who knows everything, this list would genuinely never stop if I carried on.

And of course, the friends I made from NYSC, the ones from BHC, the ones from work or the ones made by just existing in space, the ones who protected me from the people who would cheat me cause I was a ‘JJC’, the one who is family but is now one of my bestfriends, the one who helped me during the possibly worst part of my life, the friends who are basically my family now and many more.

We all need friends, no matter how ‘hard’ we think we are. We need someone to be there every once in a while, to listen to our banter when we’re tired of talking to ourselves and would rather someone other than ourselves give a response and of course someone to protect us, not only physically but emotionally as well. 

To all my friends, especially those that fall in any of the catergories above, you have no idea how grateful I am that you were there at those points in my life,  no matter how estranged we might be, I will alway be there to help and be that friend to the fullest of my abilities.

Oh by the way, I’m 23 on the 24th 👩-> 👵

I know how corny the title is 🙈

I have a March post, it’s here.

4 thoughts on “The Best Ships are Friendships

  1. Looking for my own section like ‘Did this gurl leave me out?’ I guess I am not that important that I had to be generalized. My heart hurts. I am sad. Nkowbi

Leave a Reply

